Old Farnhamians' Association

86th Annual Dinner


Monday, 19 March, 2018

In spite of a heavy snow storm and an ageing of membership the former pupils and staff of Farnham Boys Grammar School, almost sixty in total, attended this annual event held at the Hogs Back Hotel. As usual former pupils of this school travelled from across the country to spend time with their old pals; one made his annual visit from America to coincide with the lunch and another had travelled from Sweden.

It is usual to read out a list of those Old Boys who have died during the past year and this time there were fourteen names read out, showing that in time this organisation will come to an end. A sad thought as the school has been part of the history of Farnham for over 400 years.

The main guests were Dr. Jason Jones, current Director of Farnham Sixth Form College, and Mike Potter, former Chief Executive of the Guildford College Group. The Toast to the School was given by Richard Lord and the Toast to the Association by Barry Hall. The current President and organiser of the event, Roger Edgell, replied to both toasts. Roger has been the President for two years and Cyril Trust praised his dedication to the position and asked all present to applaud Roger in appreciation.

The afternoon ended with all standing for the School Song and the National Anthem with Ian Sargeant playing the keyboard; the whole occasion was managed most skilfully by stand-in Toastmaster Wally Walsh.

It is to be hoped that the event will remain for a few more years and keep alive the memory of an excellent centre of education.

Cyril Trust & Roger Edgell

Attendees: Andrews G, Andrews T, Batchelor H, Bennett R, Blunt D, Bowtell D, Bowtell R, Clarke J, Cleminson RS, Crotty J, Cutler D, Daniels B, Edgell RG, Elkins K, Elsmore DP, Fairclough C, Fitch C, Frampton RA, Gatfield A, Groves H, Hall BA, Hewes RH, Hughes D, Jones Dr. J, Jones RD, Le Vey GF, Linney S, Little M, Lord RA, Luckhurst R, Luff WJ, Matthews JR, Mayne EP, McManamon DG, Mehta M, Mortimer K, Mylles PA, Nash C, Neave JJ, Paget N, Parker J, Pesterfield JE, Phillips D, Phillips RA, Polglaze D, Potter M, Read PC, Sargeant IC, Sherwood JH, Shipton R, Torode H, Trust CD, Upfold H, Walden JR, Walsh WP, Welland Jones R, Williams BR, Wood N.









































Return to Homepage